Idioms

  1. An idiom (Latin: idioma, “special property”, from Greek: ἰδίωμα – idíōma, “special feature, special phrasing, a peculiarity”, f. Greek: ἴδιος – ídios, “one’s own”) is a phrase or a fixed expression that has a figurative, or sometimes literal, meaning. An idiom’s figurative meaning is different from the literal meaning.

As a continuation of my live project i’ve decided to undertake a shorter project, that is based around idioms- the definition of which is above. I plan to develop some illustrations and develop them as a series, i feel like this is a good time to challenge myself and test my own skills, the time scale until the deadline for the project is much closer than when i started the last set of illustrations.

I feel that my portfolio is lacking work that i’m proud of, it would be nice to make it more diverse and rich.

Below is one of my initial drawings that i hope to develop over the next couple of hours. This is relating to the idiom ‘cat got your tongue’. I want to do some more playful work, that has an element of humour but is also thoughtful.

Leave a Reply

