I’ve been in an awful panic just recently about what my practice is, and how i define what it is i like to do, do i need to do this? or can i just define myself as a ‘maker’?

As a result of this i feel i’ve become fairly unproductive, i’ve been thinking about it too much and my work as a result has become forced, and i haven’t been producing the work i want to or that i’m pleased with.

So i’ve made the decision to use the live brief to find out what it is i want to do, and narrow down what my practice is. I’ve started with something i’ve always been interested in which is stitch and embroidery. I’ve never tried embroidering a whole illustration, i’ve often used it in combination with other techniques. So i bought an embroidery hoop and began working from a fashion image i found in a magazine. I drew from the image first and then worked from the simplified drawing to create the stitched piece. I’m fairly pleased with the result actually, and i feel it’s something i can progress with.

image

Leave a Reply

